“I’m just tired of being afraid” – Ferris Bueller revisited

8 Feb

RTE showed the 1986 film Ferris Bueller’s Day Off recently. Watching it as a 30-something adult, I was surprised to realise that in between the chicka-chicka music, Ferrari japes and Dean of Students baiting, there lurks a moving portrayal of teenage angst that had completely passed me by first time around.

Ferris’s best friend, Cameron, has a messed up home life and is pretty depressed. Ferris’s coercing of him to take the day off school is an attempt to take his friend out of himself and to help him take a moment to appreciate life.

Alan Ruck puts in a moving and witty performance as Cameron – probably helped by the fact that he was nearly 30 when John Hughes was directing the film.

“I realised it was ridiculous being afraid, worrying about everything, all that sh*t, I’m tired of it… I’m bullsh*t. I put up with everything. My old man pushes me around – I never say anything. Well, he’s not the problem: I’m the problem. I gotta take a stand. I gotta take a stand against him. I am not going to sit on my *ss as the events that affect me unfold to determine the course of my life. I’m gonna take a stand. I’m gonna defend it. Right or wrong, I’m gonna defend it.”

Unlike me, this guy got the movie first time: http://blog.moviefone.com/2011/06/11/how-ferris-bueller-saved-me-from-depression/

Some resources for young people struggling with depression, anxiety and other mental health issues here: http://www.letsomeoneknow.ie/good_stuff_from_others/

Leave a Reply

